Red Shoes, Purple Scarves & Chocolate Pudding| Emma E Houston


I have been on a journey for the past four (4) years and early on realized it would bring me to a place that would identify my purpose.  Stage III Breast Cancer showed up on my 49th birthday and proceeded to develop a personal relationship with me and those who were a part of the journey.  Family, friends, doctors, nurses, colleagues and strangers.  The moment I received the news I went into "Emma Mode."  "Ok, Lord, what We gonna do ’bout this?"  Yes, me and the Lord have many conversations, especially when I think I am in control and running things, sometimes the conversations are one-sided and many times He lets me think I’m in charge. YEA, right!  Actullay I have been here before, apparently I’m not the swiftest runner in the race, but I do show up and put on my running shoes.  As I look back on "the journey" I now have moments in which I remember when I could do nothing but lay still because my bones hurt so badly and nothing could be done or said but petition for prayers on my behalf.  I have always felt the awesome and graceful love and presence of God but took Him for granted.  Not in a dismissive way but in the way we often do when we think someone will always be in our corners regardless of how we may treat them. "Thank You Lord."  I had to totally and completely surrender, practice and live my belief that God is in complete control.  Unfortuantely, although I knew it, I also heard it in the first meeting with my oncologist.  Witihin 5 minutes she said, "listen you ain’t running nothing, recognize that this disease does not care who you are or what you have plans to do."  "You are in for a battle and you will need to pull everything and everyone in your life together to get you on the other side of the journey, healthy and intact."  Ok, I heard her and I let go, I gave up the need to be in control as best I could and saw God move people in and out of my life.  The journey had tears but also much laughter… I will return later to share both.  Until then…stay well
Emma E
This entry was posted in Health and wellness. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Red Shoes, Purple Scarves & Chocolate Pudding| Emma E Houston

  1. Lorry says:

    Hallelujah Mommy!!! Boy oh boy was it a journey. Don\’t you love that God has a plan for you, whether you know it or not? Love, Lorry

  2. Violet says:

    What an awesome God we serve!!Well, now you\’ve gone and done it. This sounds like a "forward" to me. I can\’t wait for the rest of the story. I love you so much,Violet

Leave a comment